EU founding members allow for a ‘two-track’ Europe

By 02/11/2016April 25th, 2020No Comments

In a joint communiqué released Tuesday evening, the six founding members of the European Union (Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands) reiterated their support for an “ever closer union” and for the first time backed the idea of a “two speed” Europe. At a time when UK Prime Minister David Cameron is demanding that Britain be explicitly exempted from the EU’s call for an “ever closer union”, the joint statement acknowledged that the EU “allows for different paths of integration.”